Home » Family » An Unexpected Absence

An Unexpected Absence

It has been 3 weeks since I lasted blogged, and it has been a very busy time for us.  We needed to make a journey back to our Home State of Tasmania, it was not a planned trip, no not at all, very unexpected and unprepared for, you see my dear Grandmother took ill, and really there was no question about going home to spend some time with her and our family.  The time seems to have gone all too quickly yet at the same time, it seems like so very long ago that we set off.  We are now back home, we could not put our return off any longer as we have some big changes here that are starting to take place (more on that at a later date).  My Grandma has improved, and I think she is enjoying stirring up the nurses….. dear Grandma, she is such a character.

I thought I would go back to the beginning of our trip, we left the outback and drove all the way to Melbourne, to board the Spirit of Tasmania – the ferry that operates from Melbourne to Tasmania (and return).  We needed to take our car with us, so that we could come and go, to and from the hospital, and to visit family, made things much easier than worrying about hire fees etc.  And this way we could also take our own camper, and set this up for us to stay in.  We got into Melbourne early in the morning, and as we had an evening sailing we decided to have a look around St Kilda, a lovely little town near the pier where the ferry departs from, and we also knew from memory that it was home to some very yummy cake shops………

Cakes

Can you see all those delicious looking sweet treats, well we most certainly could not stop oohing and aahing and as you can see from the little fingers in the photo, there was lots of pointing and please can we get one of those…….. and it wasn’t just the children 🙂

Chocolate-Eclair

Oh my goodness, now isn’t that an absolute delight.  All that creamy, chocolate drizzled, pastry goodness……. I would like to say that I didn’t eat all this by myself but I am sorry I simply cannot, it was so delicious and such a treat.  We each chose our own treat and sat by the waterfront to eat them and look out over the water (which I have missed so much).

Then we drove around and took in some sights.  Even with my worries – with how my Grandmother was doing, I was determined to make this unexpected trip an adventure for the children as they are simply too young to truly understand.  The day was a bit grey and blustery so mostly we stayed inside the car with a little walk and look around to stretch our legs from time to time.

park

Lots of pretty green parks, and the Ferry in the background, you can just see it in the hazy grey fog, was very cold coming from the warm outback of 34 degrees, and straight into well below 20 degrees, time to bring out our warm clothes and scarfs.

clock

I also love all the old buildings, and structures.  It really is a pretty area near the pier.

Building---old

I managed to snap these pictures as my husband drove us slowly along the waterfront road.

Melbourne-Tram-Line copy

And of course the tram lines always fascinate us, the little ones found these very interesting indeed.  It really was a very cloudy, grey, cold wintry type of day.

Spirit-of-Tasmania copy

Then finally it came time to drive down onto the pier and board the Ferry.  A patch of blue sky came out to see us off.   There it is the Spirit of Tasmania, my boys were super excited to say the least, they loved it.

It seems funny, writing about all this now, now that we are home and trying to settle back into our routine.  That and missing everyone immensely.  I am glad for the time that we could spend with Grandma and our family, as family are a very important part of my life.  Hopefully I will be able to blog some more this week, as I have more to share from our time in Tasmania.

5 thoughts on “An Unexpected Absence

  1. This is a great read…well done! Wish I was as smart as you ol’ girl! I’ve gat a few yarns up my sleeve!
    Keep up the great work. Love it, I am very proud of you xx

Leave a Reply

