Home » Outdoors » A Morning on the River

A Morning on the River

Today I would like to share some more photos from our trip back home to Tasmania.  My husband and I left over 5 years ago, but we still call Tassie home, and miss it very much.  The beautiful landscape, and the fact that nowhere is far from the water.  On our recent rip, we spent a short morning on the water, and I managed to take a few photos, these I would like to share today.

landscape-Tamar-River-large

First up the landscape always take my breath away, such a serene setting on this day, the sun was shining through the clouds and everything looked very tranquil indeed.  Have you noticed that my photos are now nice and large, I finally figured out how to make them bigger on here yay!!

batman-bridge

On past the iconic Batman Bridge, linking the East and West Tamar Highways along the Tamar River.

boating

It was nice and relaxing, sitting up on the deck, watching the boys explore and making sure that they didn’t lean too far over to watch the jelly fish floating past.  Can you spot the Church in the background, not far from the foreshore.

Church

Here it is, such a pretty Church.  The Auld Kirk, it was built in 1845-1846, and still stands strong and proud.  It has seen a lot of history this old Church, including a very special moment in time for my family, you see this is the Church where my parents were married, many years ago.  This is the first thought that always comes to mind whenever we pass by.

Lighthouse

And this is the old Lighthouse, which sits on the banks below the Church.  I remember taking photos of this area in the past, never ceases to catch my interest, these older structures and buildings. , I really should look more into the history of this area.

boat

Focusing back onto the boat, lots of workings, ropes and wires.   Don’t ask me what they do, as I really have no idea, my husband on the other hand, he loves to sail, he used to spend a lot of time sailing when we were younger, doing many Melbourne to Hobart Yacht races, and one or maybe two Sydney to Hobart races.   Feels like a life-time ago, those pre-children years, hard to believe they were not always here with us, keeping us on our toes, and warming our hearts.  It is wonderful how children look at things, everything is an adventure, to be explored and discovered.

jelly-fish

Which brings me to the jelly fish that were floating about in the water, the boys were fascinated with them.  They had big crosses on them, which made them even more interesting to the children, and try as I might I just could not get them on the camera very well, but I certainly tried.  The photo is really not good at all and  I apologise for the poor quality, but I know that it was a part of the day, and when they see this photo it will bring the memories back for them, just as it has for me.

batman-bridge1

And once more, the long standing Batman Bridge.  This brings an end to our morning on the River, I do hope you enjoyed coming along with me.  I am off now to make a cuppa and a sandwich, hope you all have a lovely day.

Enjoy xx

One thought on “A Morning on the River

Leave a Reply

